top of page

Spina Bifida in the Bayou

My name is Mary Beth. I am 33 years old and live in Louisiana. I was born with Spina Bifida, although I’m not sure at what level. I do know that it is in my lower back. I have hydrocephalus and I have had multiple shunt revisions.I have a foley catheter that I use that often gives me problems but I wouldn't think of giving it up. I have lived on my own since I was 19. I do have assistance during the day that is, people come to my home and help me with daily activities and chores.

I am on a weekly bowling league and I LOVE it! I love to watch movies with my mom. I’m online more often than not lol. I like Star Trek ( I used to watch it with my dad when I was little.) I don’t have the healthiest diet lol. I LOVE junk food a little much. All in all, I’d say I have a really good life. I hope to get married and have kids in the future.


bottom of page